Academy Software Foundation - Technical Advisory Council (TAC) Meeting - October 18, 2023

Join the meeting at

Voting member attendance

Premier member Representatives

  • Bill Roberts - Adobe Inc.
  • Brian Cipriano - Google LLC
  • Cory Omand - The Walt Disney Studios
  • Eric Enderton - NVIDIA Corporation
  • Eric Reinecke - Netflix, Inc.
  • Erik Niemeyer - Intel Corporation
  • Esteban Papp - Amazon Web Services, Inc.
  • Gordon Bradley - Autodesk
  • Greg Denton - Microsoft Corporation
  • Jean-Michel Dignard - Epic Games, Inc
  • Kimball Thurston - Weta Digital Limited
  • Larry Gritz - Sony Pictures Imageworks
  • Mark Visser - Unity Technologies
  • Matthew Low - DreamWorks Animation
  • Michael B Johnson - Apple Inc.
  • Scott Dyer - Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences
  • Sean O’Connell - Advanced Micro Devices (AMD)
  • Tony Micilotta - DNEG

Project Representatives

  • Carol Payne - OpenColorIO Representative
  • Cary Phillips - OpenEXR Representative
  • Chris Kulla - Open Shading Language (OSL) Representative
  • Jonathan Stone - MaterialX Representative
  • Joshua Minor - OpenTimelineIO Representative
  • Ken Museth - OpenVDB Representative

Industry Representatives

  • Jean-Francois Panisset - Visual Effects Society

Non Voting Projects, Working Groups, Linux Foundation

  • Alexander Forsythe - RAW to ACES Utility Representative
  • Alexander Schwank - USD Working Group Representative
  • Daniel Greenstein - OpenImageIO Representative
  • Erik Strauss - Open Review Initiative Representative
  • Gary Oberbrunner - OpenFX Representative
  • Jean-Christophe Morin - Rez Representative
  • Nick Porcino - USD Working Group Representative
  • Rachel Rose - D&I Working Group Representative
  • Scott Wilson - Working Group for Rust Bindings Representative
  • Stephen Mackenzie - Rez Representative
  • Tom Cowland - OpenAssetIO Representative
  • David Morin - Epic Games
  • Emily Olin - Academy Software Foundation
  • John Mertic - The Linux Foundation
  • Yarille Kilborn - The Linux Foundation
  • Andrew Grimberg - The Linux Foundation

Other Attendees

  • Dede Kincaid, Digital Domain
  • JT Nelson, Pasadena Open Source consortium / SoCal Blender group
  • Olga Avramenko, MPC
  • Joseph Goldstone, ARRI
  • Bill Ballew, Dreamworks
  • Christian Wieberg-Nielsen
  • Darin Grant, Animal Logic

Antitrust Policy Notice

Linux Foundation meetings involve participation by industry competitors, and it is the intention of the Linux Foundation to conduct all of its activities in accordance with applicable antitrust and competition laws. It is therefore extremely important that attendees adhere to meeting agendas, and be aware of, and not participate in, any activities that are prohibited under applicable US state, federal or foreign antitrust and competition laws.

Examples of types of actions that are prohibited at Linux Foundation meetings and in connection with Linux Foundation activities are described in the Linux Foundation Antitrust Policy available at If you have questions about these matters, please contact your company counsel, or if you are a member of the Linux Foundation, feel free to contact Andrew Updegrove of the firm of Gesmer Updegrove LLP, which provides legal counsel to the Linux Foundation.


  • General Updates
    • Transition to LFX Meeting Management #460
    • Swag Store feedback #446
    • Project Proposal - OpenQMC #434
  • Dev Days Recap #476
  • Annual Review - D&I Working Group #473
  • Discuss use of OpenSSF Best Practices badge in lifecycle stage requirements. #502


General Updates

  • Mr. Mertic gave an update on the transition of projects to LFX Meeting Management, and indicated that about 2/3 of the projects are using the service. Mr. Mertic will reach out to the remaining projects to move them over.
  • Mr. Mertic asked attendees to provide feedback on the Swag Store at #446
  • Mr. Mertic further indicated there are no updates on the NVIDIA review of #434

Dev Days Recap #476

-Ms. Payne provided a recap of Dev Days, noting seven participating companies ( slides presented at #476 ). Ms. Avranenko presented stats from the participants. She also reviewed a brief list areas where the event can improve for the future. Ms. Payne outlined further plans for doing a similar event in the future. Mr. Gritz also spoke about the attendee mix, and Mr. Phillips shared his experiences with the participants and feedback on the CLA process.

Annual Review - D&I Working Group #473

  • Ms. Payne and Ms. Rose presented an update of the D&I working group and reviewed the focus areas ( slides presented at #473 ).
  • Ms. Payne indicated that in the future they are looking at forming a steering committee to help formalize the group and scale for more activities.

Discuss use of OpenSSF Best Practices badge in lifecycle stage requirements. #502

  • Due to time, this agenda item was postponed to the next meeting.